Find Us!

Valorie Wolcott Mendelson OSPA Scholarship

OPSA Announces

The application for 2023 Scholarships is  now open.   Please note that the General application due date is March 31! 

Scholarship Background

The Ohio School Psychologists Association established the scholarship to benefit graduate students who are in the second term of their first year at one of the nine Ohio Graduate Training Programs in School Psychology

Eligibility Criteria

Candidates must be student members of the Ohio School Psychologists Association (OSPA)

Candidates must be in the second term of their first year.

Candidates must be full-time graduate students attending one of the nine Ohio Graduate Training Programs in School Psychology that are accredited through the National Association of School Psychologist (NASP)

Cleveland State University

Miami University

The Ohio State University

University of Cincinnati

University of Dayton

University of Toledo

Youngstown State University


Selection Criteria  40% Financial Need, 30% Academic and Professional Competence, 15 % Leadership and Service, 15% Professional Commitment and Aspirations.

Selection Committee

Past President, OSPA

Chair, OSPA Scholarship Committee

Financial Aid Director, Graduate Training Program, position rotates every two years

Dean or designee, Graduate Training Program, position rotates every two years

Dean or designee, Graduate Training Program, position rotates every two years

Award Amount

Two at $3,000



The scholarship is not renewable.

Payment Distribution  All awards are paid directly to the educational institution.

The scholarship may be used for any educational expenses, provided enrolled full-time status.

The scholarship must not displace any institutional or other aid.


Application Requirements

2023 online application available via:

Complete General Online Application by March 31, 2023

Undergraduate and Graduate Transcripts

Additional Essays – Why did you choose to pursue a career in school psychology?  What challenges do you face or anticipate while completing your education? 

What do you believe you can contribute to the practice of school psychology in Ohio?                                   

  Third Letter of Recommendation

Student Aid Report (SAR) from FAFSA

Curriculum Vitae


DEADLINE for completion  

June 1, 2023 at 5:00 pm EST

Application and Award Process

The Columbus Foundation sends notification of the scholarship’s availability to eligible schools

Candidates complete the online application by the deadline.

After the deadline, The Columbus Foundation reviews complete applications for eligibility

The Foundation sets up the selection committee meeting, typically a conference call.

After the meeting, the Foundation sends award letters to recipients that explain the payment request process and include the proof of enrolment form.

Once proof of enrollment has been received by the Foundation, a check will be sent to the recipient’s educational institution.



The Columbus Foundation

Alicia Szempruch

Scholarship Manager


The Valorie Wolcott Mendelson Ohio School Psychologist Association Scholarship was created by the Executive Board in 2006 and the first $1,000 scholarship was awarded in November 2008. In 2012 the scholarship was increased to $2,000 and in 2015 we were able to increase the number of scholarships to two.  Beginning in 2020 the two scholarships have been increased to $3,00 each.

This scholarship is funded through the support of our annual raffle at the Fall Conference in Columbus and generous gifts from OSPA members. In 2011 the OSPA Executive Board renamed the scholarship the Valorie Wolcott Mendelson OSPA Scholarship in honor of our first chair and the guiding force for this scholarship.

 From humble beginnings we have grown our funds through the greathearted donations of publishers who donate materials that school psychologists use; through the 9 Ohio universities where school psychologists are trained; by regional school psychologist associations who bring creative offerings that reflect their geographic/cultural traditions; from personal donations and from memorials.

The Scholarship Committee is very pleased to announce that thanks to our fundraising efforts at the Fall Conference and and the Past President’s Challenge more than $7,800 was collected for the scholarship this year.   Donations are always welcome, scroll down to see how you can donate.  

 The scholarship funds are invested and managed by The Columbus Foundation and now total more than $187,000. 

To date the Scholarship has given out $43,000.


  Please see the list of recipients below

2008Ryan TaylorUniversisty of Toledo
2009Amber KokalKent State University
2010Autumn LaRichUniversity of Dayton
2011Morgan JensenUniversity of Dayton
2012Diahana DavisCleveland State
2013Amy BrunoUniversity of Miami
2014Estafany RodriguezCleveland State
2015Nicholas DeHoffUniversity of Miami
 Kallie PettitiKent State University
2016Alanna BebechYoungstown State
 Selena PhilsonOhio State University
2017Chia HongUniversity of Miami
 Alex PassafiumeOhio State University
2018Taylor WohlgamuthUniversity of Dayton
2019Ashley GeorgeUniversity of Miami
 Adam ZegaracCleveland State
2020Madeline GronotteUniversity of Dayton
 Kyanna JohnsonOhio State University
2021Caitlyn HanesUniversity of Dayton
 Emily LicataUniversity of Toledo
2022Angela KladiasUniversity of Dayton


Invitation for Giving: 

The Valorie Wolcott Mendelson OSPA Scholarship is a 501(c) (3).  Contributions are always welcome.  Please make check out to:  The Columbus Foundation with a notation that it is for the Valorie Wolcott Mendelson OSPA Scholarship - 2085. Please mail contributions to:

Alicia Szempruch
Scholarship Manager
The Columbus Foundation
1234 East Broad Street
Columbus, Ohio 43205-1453
Phone: 614/251-4000 Fax: 614/251-4010

Contributions may also be made on line at Click on Give Now.  Click on Search and Give by a Nonprofit  Then Type in Valorie Wolcott Mendelson OSPA Scholarship -2085. Thank you for considering a tax deductible donation to support the development of school psychologists in Ohio..

The Valorie Wolcott Mendelson OSPA Scholarship Award Recipients:

Thank you for all you have done to enhance the profession of School Psychology in the state of Ohio!  If you have any questions or concerns please contact: 

Juliette Madigan or Alanna Bebech,  Co-Chairs